Is this maintaining tradition or musical elitism?

Is this maintaining tradition or musical elitism?

A few months ago I purchased a mandolin and I’ve been playing trad Irish music almost exclusively since. As a newbie to the Irish music scene I have been trying my best to learn things the right way.

When learning a new tune, some people appear to have the opinion, “If you didn’t learn it from O’Neill’s, you’ve learned it wrong”.

Is this true? It seems like there are a lot of regional/personal variations of tunes out there. Should I be trying to use standardized sources, or is there even such a thing?

As I said, I’m a newbie to mandolin and Irish music. I’d like to do things the right way. Once I’m confident to play in front of someone, I’d hate for them to say something like, “Your technique is pretty good, but you’ve got the A part for the gravel walk all wrong”.

Re: Is this maintaining tradition or musical elitism?

(A) “If you didn’t learn it from O’Neill’s, you’ve learned it wrong”. Rubbish! And I think O’Neill himself would have been the first to agree.
(B) “Your technique is pretty good, but you’ve got the A part for the gravel walk all wrong”…. Without hearing you play it I couldn’t say if you have it right or wrong. There would, of course, ultimately be a wrong way, but there are also endless versions to most of these tunes that would fall within the right (i.e. acceptable) way.

Posted by .

“If you didn’t learn it from O’Neill’s, you’ve learned it wrong”

They could also say “If you didn’t learn it from O’Neill’s, then it’s not Irish Music” which would be just as ridiculous.
The tunes in the book were only those which O’Neill and his sergeant(who did most of the collecting, I believe) heard and the versions would have been notated as played at the time. There would no doubt have been many versions and variations even then. It’s also probable that many weren’t notated exactly either.

These people are not the music friends you are looking for…