I play too fast.

I play too fast.

Hi all,

I have been playing concertina for about 5 years now and am a devoted student with decent discipline.

I’m playing a lot at home now due to the pandemic. I have a tendency to play too fast even though a lot of the concertina players I listen to play nice and moderate when it comes to tempo. Mary mac, Seán Dwyer, kitty Hayes.

I recorded myself the other day playing one of my favourite tunes, which I can utterly release to and leave my hands do the work without thinking about any mechanics. I listened back and it was god awful. Way too fast, no time to dwell on any of the nice ornaments or chording I had included. While I completed the tune it sounded like a runaway train even though it was one of my repertoire that I would have good control over.

I set out regularly trying to play slower and achieve a nice groove rather than ploughing ahead. I may start out slower but will lose myself to speeding up inevitably by the third time round the jig or reel. I’m not able to play along with anyone at the moment and I’m not good enough to play along with most recordings. Can I have any advice when it comes to playing slower?

I’m sure this is something people teachers encounter in their students from time to time.
Thanks,

Tim

Re: I play too fast.

Good for you for recognizing the issue! Recognizing that it is a problem is half the battle. I’m generally not a fan of using metronomes, except in cases where what you are working on is specifically tempo. I’m not a fan, because a metronome is an unforgiving slave master, which is not generally how this music works. Normally, you’re playing with other people, and not only are you reacting to them, but they’re reacting to you as well, which a metronome does not do… And we play this music with some lilt and swing, so if you are using a metronome, I recommend having it just give you the first beat of each bar, which provides you more room to make the rhythm sound good.