Help making sets

Help making sets

I could really use some help making sets. Wither with how to put them together , or just outright suggestions. I did not put the key, I’m just learning the most common key if that makes sense. During the pandemic, with the help of Blayne Chastain’s site, these are the ones I have been working on:
Drowsy Maggie (reel)
Cooley’s Reel
Maid of Mt Cisco (reel)
Earls Chair (reel)
Musical Priest (reel)
Banish Misfortune (jig)
Bag of Spuds (reel)
Garret Barrys (jig)
Harvest Home (hornpipe)
Kesh Jig
Kid on the mountain (slip jig )
merrily kiss the … (reel)
monaghan jig
merry blacksmith (reel)
musical priest (reel)
off to california (hornpipe)
Amhran na Leabhar (air)
Bruach na Carraige Baine (air)
Donny Brook fair (jig)

Re: Help making sets

I just noticed that 10 years ago I made the same post! Wow. I’ll look at that post too. Many of the tunes in this discussion are different though.

In my opinion the easiest way to form sets is to look at how the tunes transition into each other, so they are easy to play one after another and have a clear change. Take a listen to as much music as you can, and you’ll start to see the common sets people do. By playing through those sets you will develope your ability to put together sets on your own.