Fiddle tuning weirdness

Fiddle tuning weirdness

I just got a new violin and while I was playing at the luthier the tuning was fine. I got it home and tuned it with three different tuning apps. E, A, and D tuned fine to the app. But G was insane. When the tuners indicated a perfect G, it sounded terrible. Even the scales sounded way off. So I tuned the G by ear so that it just sounded right. The tuners say that the open G string is an F#. But it sounds fine. Is this something that happens?

Posted by .

Re: Fiddle tuning weirdness

Download Pano tuner. Note it is Pano. Not piano. Forget about any other online tuner.

Just to add: if it’s new the tuning can be a bit erratic for a few days. I’ve been playing Dominant strings for a few years. Decided to try Helicore for a change. Taking a couple of weeks to settle.
Be patient.
Alex.

use a real tuner, not a huge fan of tuning apps.

I have both a older physical Peterson VSAM strobe tuner and their iStroboSoft iOS app and they pretty much match 100%.

Do yourself a BIG favour and learn to tune the strings to each other, in perfect 5ths. Then you can tune your A string to a reliable source (tuner, piano, whatever) and that one reference is all you need. In more than 50 years of playing fiddle I have never used a tuner, let alone a tuner app. A tuning fork will last you a lifetime - you can drop it safely and it has no batteries to run out 🙂 . There may be situations in which a tuner might be essential, I suppose (on a noisy stage, or other noisy environment), but being able to tune your strings to each other by ear is far more essential, I reckon.

Posted by .

It is worth noting that fifths in equal temperament (which is what tuners use) are about one tenth of one per cent flat of perfect fifths. So if you tune the A string to 440 and then tune the other strings to that by ear (i.e., in perfectl fifths) the G string will certainly be flat of the equal temperament G of the tuner (and the E should be a little sharp).