Tune suggestions for a jig and a reel

Tune suggestions for a jig and a reel

Hello lovely people 🙂

I decided on taking my first online lesson for some help.

Before I start, I have to learn one jig and one reel by memory.

Can you all suggest a good beginner tune for each? Keep in mind I’m not good with any ornamentation yet but looking for a good couple of pieces that are beginner level to practice some new techniques and get started.

Thanks 🙏

Re: Tune suggestions for a jig and a reel

Lilting banshee is a great suggestion as you can play it with no ornamentation, but lots of great places to learn where to add rolls to etc.

I’m not sure about bird in the bush if you’re a new player as it might be quite complicated to learn?
Mountain road isn’t as interesting, but a common suggestion as a beginner reel + the a parts and b parts repeat so easier to get your head round? Might be worth a look:
https://thesession.org/tunes/68

The first reel (single reel, to be more accurate) I often teach a brand new student is Gorman’s: https://thesession.org/tunes/1540

Which setting, Reverend?

Posted by .

I reckon Nigel’s suggestion for Johnny McIljohn’s reel would be about as simple as you could get, yet it’s not a bad little tune.

Posted by .

It dawned on me that I just posted the audio of Irish musicians playing reels at what is beyond the beginner level on a thread asking about beginner tunes. How stupid am I? It’s no-doubt an excellent example of how to play "Gorman’s Reel" but it’s not a lesson version for someone learning their first reel.