Lancashire Tunes from the Industrial Revolution Era

Lancashire Tunes from the Industrial Revolution Era

Hi,
I’m looking for Lancashire folk tunes that were written around the time of the Industrial Revolution.
I am studying towards a MA in September and my major project is to record an album of songs and tunes from that era.
I have managed to find lots of songs and poems but struggling to find tunes. However, if you have any song recommendations, that would be useful too.
Thanks in advance,
Cliff

Re: Lancashire Tunes from the Industrial Revolution Era

The only English creator of tunes who I know was active during this period was Joshua Jackson, from Yorkshire. He has quite a lot of tunes, and an album I enjoy by the group Canny Fettle is based completely, or almost cnpletely, on Jackson’s manuscript. I would think there would have been someone in Lankashire who did the same.

From my memory as a ‘Lanky lad, perhaps the most famous collector of old Lancashire songs was the poet Edwin Waugh. You can get a free e-book here:- https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/55921. I’ve not read it, but it may give some leads, and, of course, it’s a reference you should include.

Posted by .

And then… sorry Cliff, I just paid attention and read that you were looking specifically for ‘tunes’. Funny…. I don’t know of ANY!

Posted by .