Revisiting Boehm Flute For Irish Trad

Revisiting Boehm Flute For Irish Trad

In a recent thread, I voiced an opinion that Boehm flutes are problematic for Irish trad. I had been playing Boehm for ten years prior to taking up Irish. Since I was very familiar with simple-system flutes for Early Music, I accepted making the change to SS because, for irish, SS was the instrument one used, right?

There were a few problems with Boehm that immediately reared their ugly heads. The tonal color seemed off (metallic and lacking any of the desired reediness), the R1 key on a Boehm is F natural, not F#, and (for me) the Bb thumb key was constantly in the way.

After over 20 years of playing SS, I developed a hand and foot condition that limits tactile sensitivity, so it became a challenge to cover the tone holes reliability. I have been on a 15-year odyssey dealing with this, mostly by buying flutes that offered more keys (Siccama with 10 keys and the fully keyed Radcliff). I have met with a fair degree of success, but the above-mentioned thread got me wondering if maybe I needed to disenthrall myself from the romance of playing a 19th Century "Irish" flute and revisit my trusty Boehm, which I play all the time for non-trad. Here’s what happened:

First, I had already gotten a custom wooden head for my Boehm, which essentially makes the flute sound like a wooden flute (however, let me stipulate the Boehm flute is a far superior instrument). Getting the flute to sound Irish is a matter of embouchure. Remember, 19th Century classical players did not sound like Matt Molloy. Second, although I had found the R1 Fnat-not-F# thing to be awkward in the past, I don’t find it so now (don’t know why, but I’ll take it). Last, I eliminated the Bb thumb key problem (that might not be a problem for anyone else) by removing it. It is not mechanically necessary and there are two alternate fingerings for Bb - some flute player’s never use the Bb thumb key.