How did the Irish Traditional Flute "sound" come to be?

How did the Irish Traditional Flute "sound" come to be?

I’m new to playing the flute and I am curious.

I am aware that today’s classical music flute player plays with a more pure sound whereas the player of Irish traditional music (ITM) desires to play with more of a growl or gravely sound.

How or why did the two come about to be so different?

Re: How did the Irish Traditional Flute "sound" come to be?

Ppl might be put off by your "pure" terminology

But speed, beat, bounce, reciprocal breathing and connaught style piping had major influence on the Irish flute. Specifically connaught style piping, best of luck and good question

Irish flute players create a pulse or beat for dancers by creating glottal stops on the beat

Posted by .

I don’t know for certain, but I suspect a better framing of your question might be: "why did classical music change to prefer a pure sound", because that is likely what happened.

Posted by .

Beid, I certainly did not mean to offend anyone by that term "pure". I am not speaking of rhythm at all. I am referring to the sound or tone coming from the flute. There is a difference in sound from the two players (nothing to do with rhythm or beat or bounce. It is very hard to describe sound. Use whatever term you want to describe the classical players "tone" or "sound". It is different from the ITM sound or tone. Why or how did we get such a drastic difference in the two?

Calum, thank you. That was one of the possibilities that I started to list but found my post was getting very long so I edited all the possibilities that I could think of out of my original post.

Why does any music change from pure this to pure that? It would die if it didn’t.

Posted by .