Speed/Technique/Ornamentation

Speed/Technique/Ornamentation

So I have been playing whistles for many years but have lacked the guidance in order to increase my speed to play many of the faster traditional reels or jigs. I can play most aires with ease and can play reels and jigs slowly but struggle to play as fast as one normally would. What is the best way work on this? As well as learning types of ornamentation.

Re: Speed/Technique/Ornamentation

I am not a whistle player. However, some of the best musical advice I’ve ever received in my life was from a whistle player(who also played accordion and flute). I actually made a post about it some time ago to elaborate what it meant to me and to see how others felt about it. It’s a long post because I wanted to document everything I experienced that night. Here are the main points from my OP:

"I have a challenge for you. What I want you to do is, take a tune, one tune, a simple tune that you’ve known for years; and don’t worry about practicing it slow, or practicing it fast. Just really take some time with every single note. And show us what you’ve come up with next time. "

"When he said, "…Just really take some time with every single note…" this resonated with me… Before, I thought "take some time with every note" meant "slow practice"… But no, that’s not what it means anymore. Now it means, "relax into the melody". Feel the notes. Be free in time, play with the time, don’t worry about playing at a fixed tempo or a fixed rhythm. Just relax into the melody. And let it penetrate every fiber in your bones."