Choosing the right key in which to learn a tune

Choosing the right key in which to learn a tune

Hello all. I’m relatively new to all this, so please forgive me if I’m overlooking some obvious things relating to theory (of which I know very little). I recently discovered a great tune I want to learn on the John Skelton Kieran O’Hare album DOUBLE-BARRELLED. It’s the slip jig Trotting To Larne. I looked here on the Session and there are two settings - one in A and one in D. In the comments of the tune, someone specifically mentions John Skelton’s version being in D. So I thought great… that’s the version to learn to play along with the recording itself. But when I actually tried that, I found I had to raise Skelton’s playing one half step on the recording to get it to match the key of D setting here on the Session. So doesn’t that mean that Skelton’s version on the recording is actually in Db instead of D? That’s my first question. Am I misunderstanding the relation between the recording and the key stated here on the Session?