Harmonising in ITM

Harmonising in ITM

My background is jazz but at a folk group I tried to play a few harmony notes on my whistle to give a little backing to an Irish fiddle player.
He was not amused. I thought it blended nicely but the message was crystal clear.
Did I commit a cardinal sin.
Not being familiar with the sin structure it may have been only venal.

Re: Harmonising in ITM

Yes. Don’t mix Jazz and Old Irish country music pls.

Yeah, that sort of thing will get you in trouble at a lot of sessions.

I’m not saying there aren’t some sessions where that might be OK, but in my experience, harmony on a whistle might be OK or even welcome accompanying a singer on a pub tune if they are OK with it (but never sean nos singing), but almost never in the context of sets of instrumental dance tunes.

There are some exceptions, for example, if you know the tune, everything is going along nicely playing it a few times through in a set, perhaps you throw in a melodic variation that still fits in the basic harmonic structure of the tune the last time through, the key being that it’s clear you know the tune well enough to vary it, that might be perceived as “cool” or “clever”. Or not. You might still get eye rolls/daggers. Depends on the players and the norms of the session. I’ve been in fine sessions on both ends of that scale.

If you’re just playing harmonies behind a fiddler on a tune you don’t know (you didn’t say in this case), that’s most likely going to not end well in most sessions, at least in my experience.

I’m not sure whether harmony is strictly speaking gluttony or pride, but whichever it is, it’s on the naughty list. This is a music to which accompaniment is a recent and not entirely welcome arrival. Harmony is right out.

Posted by .

You have committed a cardinal sin and must now sit in the penalty box for a while. ;)