Combining songs and tunes

Combining songs and tunes

Hi,

I’m new to the world of Irish tunes, but I have listened to and played traditional Irish songs for many years now. I’m wondering if it is “okay” to make a set that consists of both a song and a tune? How would one go about doing this? I had two ideas in mind:

1. Find a tune in the same key, that has a similar rhythm and tempo as the song. Play before or after song

2. Go by chord progressions. Like If I were to sing I’ll tell me ma, the chords would be:
G G D G
G G D G
G C G D
G C D G
It would then be really cool to find a tune that works over the same chord progression, and play that as an interlude/bridge between one of the verses for instance.

What do you people think?

Re: Combining songs and tunes

It’s fairly common in Irish “folk” or “trad” groups to use a dance-tune (reel, jig, etc) as the break, intro and break, or intro, break, and outro.

I don’t think people think of it as finding a tune with a matching chord progression, just a tune that sounds good. Yes generally the intro/break/outro tune is the same key as the song but not always. As we know it’s common in pop music for the break to be in a contrasting key, and it works in folk and trad music too.

About the concept of playing an instrumental tune and the song simultaneously it’s been done.

I’ve heard two songs sung simultaneously, one in Irish, one in English, the two melodies fitting nicely and working as a tune+descant thing.

A gimmick I’ve done, which I think works well, is to compose a descant for the song, a descant that’s tuneful enough so that when it’s heard on its own it sounds like a tune in its own right.

This descant/tune is used for the intro and break, but continues after the break, the song coming in over it for the final verse, a structure like
I
V1
V2
I
V3+I