Tin whistle- to tongue or not to tongue?

Tin whistle- to tongue or not to tongue?

My tendonitis has been bad lately, so I’ve been taking time off from the harp and focusing on the tin whistle- an instrument I’ve never taken too seriously up until now. In doing so, I’m trying to decide exactly how often I should tongue the notes. I know there are various schools of thought, from not tonguing at all to tonguing only certain notes for emphasis to tonguing every note. I’d like to get some opinions on this. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Re: Tin whistle- to tongue or not to tongue?

Tonguing on whistle is accepted far more than on flute. However, when and how will depend on your style and use of ornaments. On both instruments, I play what I hear in my head. If you are steeped in the music, you’ll get it right by instinct. Listen to what others do for direction and inspiration, but don’t imitate. Find your own flow and the articulation will come.

Posted by .

I’m no expert on tin whistle but I do enjoy the instrument, personally I think it depends on the tune and the melody. Sometimes parts of a tune (or entire tunes) sound better with the tongue than other parts, and when I want to add emphasis to certain segment or distinguish notes from the notes before and after the tongue technique seems to be effective. I suppose if you are trying to play legato style maybe the tongue would not help.

Good luck in your playing!

How much tonguing you use is ultimately up to you – whatever suits your musical sensibilities, or who you are trying to emulate (Willie Clancy used very little tonguing; Sean Ryan hardly plays a note without tonguing – at *least* once).

But a useful thing to bear in mind – not necessarily obvious at first – is that tonguing a note cuts short the note *before* it, thus giving it a staccato emphasis; so, to emphasise a note, tongue the note *after* it. There are other ways to emphasise a note, of course, but this is a common one.