Rap/Hip Hop and Irish Music

Rap/Hip Hop and Irish Music

First off I want to let everyone know who this is. It’s your friendly neighborhood bodhran player, Garry Walker. And yes, I’m that guy who wore a cloak and had ROCK music as my entrance theme. I’ve read a couple of posts on the thread about "being hated for Irish music part 2" regarding rap music and I wanted to talk about what to me are some offensive perceptions of rap and hip hop by some Irish musicians. I’m an emcee and a producer as well as a black Irish musician who has experienced racism in Irish music. Here’s some stuff to keep in mind as we talk about why these negative perceptions exist:

1. All popular music is not rap music. For example from what I’ve heard it’s gotten around that my entrance theme was some kind of hip hop which it was not at all. It was a rock song, which is the furthest thing from hip hop, and incidentally it was by Maroon 5 which is 5 white guys. I may be black but I listen to and enjoy all kinds of pop music as well as Irish music. I run a record label that includes hip hop, electronica, spoken word, and rock to name just a few.

2. Both Irish and hip hop/rap music were born in cultures that were experiencing extreme racial oppression. Both become like a way of life for the people who participate in them, and become like a cultural identity rather than just music, even for people who come to these genres outside of the culture.

3. Irish dance people say that tap dancing is the result of cultural interchange between Irish immigrants to the American South and the black people that they met there. At that time Irish people and black people were both the lowest rung in society and were oppressed and discriminated against.

4. Irish and hip hop songs have a lot of the same themes: love, death, wealth, pining for someone who’s dead, immigration (from Ireland to America or from a poverty-stricken place in America to New York or Hollywood), promiscuous behavior, etc.