From Guitar to Mandolin "no lookin back"

From Guitar to Mandolin "no lookin back"

I have played the Guitar for 21 years, The Mandolin for just 1 year, But am better on the mandolin. Has anyone else had a similar experience.

Re: From Guitar to Mandolin "no lookin back"

maybe your fingers are small

Well I played guitar for four years then mandolin for 30 years and I am still shite.
Is that similar enough?

Posted by .

yup, playing accordion (piano) for 8 years, being pretty good. then i picked up the mandolin. 6 months later, no more accordion. Ever.

Lars🙂

I have had a similar experience. I played guitar for pretty close to twenty years, and have now been playing Irish music on Irish bouzouki and now tenor banjo for about two. And I am a much better musician now.

For myself, I can attribute this to having virtually no formal training on guitar, very little organized playing, and no real structure for getting better. I did start accompanying Irish music about 4 years ago, but found that I really wanted to play the tunes instead.

The Irish music has given me focus, reason to practice, and a much more regular chance to play. I will say that my time with guitars certainly gave me a head start on playing the other plectrum instruments.

But now, whenever I pick up a guitar, it feels like an alien in my hands, and I find that I have lost almost everything that I used to be able to play on guitar… I’ll call it a fair trade, though 🙂

Pete

My experience has been almost the opposite. Although I’ve played guitar some over the last 20 years I never played much (and not ITM). And even though I make mandolins for my living and live and breathe them every day, I’m a terrible mandolin player. I’m a good fiddle player though and lately I’m having a blast with my new "used" Lowden, my dream guitar! I’ve improved my guitar playing more in the last 2 weeks than my mando has improved in 10 years. I’ve just about given up hope of ever being a good mando player. Go figure……..