cran

cran

Is it possible to explain how to do a cran on the fiddle over the net? or is it a ‘you have to see it type thing’? If anyone can manage it - I’d be grateful - Ive been going out of my mind trying to work out how to do them. Is it something sort of like a cut & a roll together?

Posted by .

Re: cran

I’m no expert, but I have been taught how to do a cran, and I do use them pretty regularly on open strings and sometimes other fingers. There are some tunes that simply cry out for them in the ornamentation. I think Tommy Peoples is the ultimate at playing crans - listen to what he does. I play a single note triplet with a cut on the last note. You need to practice in both directions (starting with down, then starting with up bows) and slowly until everything is coordinated. They should sound like dit-ity-dar (the last note being longer with the cut), then after a while they just kind of fall into place. I hope this is helpful.

Posted by .

To me a cran can only truely be accomplished on pipes, flute or whistle, but us fiddlers can try to do our best. Fiddle crans aren’t as defined as triplets or rolls, I’ve rarely heard fiddlers use crans (with the exception of some modern Donegal fiddlers Peoples, Glackin etc [and one instance of Eileen Ivers on "The maid at the spinning wheel"]) & when I have each fiddlers approach is vastly different.

Geez, if you can do a cran on the fiddle, you qualify as pretty expert to me — or at least a better fiddler by far than myself! :) Kevin Glackin showed them to me about fifteen times at a workshop and I still couldn’t quite get it. He tried to make it better by telling me that it takes about ten years to get them right and that in Ireland you learn them just by hearing and seeing them all your life.

As I recall (and I could be recalling wrong), Kevin’s fiddle cran had two or three cuts as well as the triplet. His triplet in the cran was less scratchy then People’s generally is but still pretty gruff.