Help me I am a beginner on the Low D whistle

I have been playing the scottish bagpipes for years now and over the last few years have been going to Celtic Connections in Glasgow. There I was inspired to learn the Low D whistle. My Dad bought me one for Christmas but unfortunately I have no idea where to find resources to begin learning it. I need to find music (preferably able to be found free on the internet lol) and something which I can teach myself from. Can anybody help me please. Is it and easy instrument to pick up if I have played the bagpipes for some time?
Please help, Kyle

Posted by .

Re: Help me I am a beginner on the Low D whistle

I believe that the low whistle is considered difficult to play well. (There’ll be some jokes, I’m afraid, along the variety of the low whistle only being good for hanging curtains on and making whale noises.) I’ll let one of the wind players give you some hints, although you might like to do a search in the archives on "low whistle" as it’s been a question we’ve seen before. I *do* know that some of the fingerings are different.

Good luck, and have fun!

I love the sound of a low D whistle. In my case, I must be seated while playing at sea level, lest I pass out. This link talks about the fingering:

http://www.chiffandfipple.com/low.html

There is a little on-line tutorial at kerrywhistles.com.
They are the makers of Chiftains low whistles.