How old were you when you started?

How old were you when you started?

How old were you when you started playing music??

I was 5 when I started the fiddle, whistle and flute 11 and harp14.

Athena

Posted by .

Re: How old were you when you started?

Had about 10 lessons on violin - classical style at age 12.

Then nothing else until Mrs Dave gave me a whistle at age 26

I’ve just started the Uilleann pipes at 52. Beats doing a workout every morning!

Home made guitar (made by by dad), tea-chest bass, washboard and harmonica - 9-ish years old, slightly better guitar -14, fiddle - 56.

mandolin: 15
Bazouki: 16
Fiddle: 19
Viola: 32

(dropped the first two)

Posted .

It’s a matter of contention whether or not I play *music* even now! However, unless you count plinking an xylophone, blowing a kazoo, banging a drum etc when I was a kid, I started playing guitar when I was sixteen. While not totally useless i.e I could do lots of chords, strum, some fingerpicking, even playing some melody, I never really mastered the instrument. If I had been able to sing, I’d have got away with things like so many people do :-( but I was forced to try other things.

I was thirty when I bought my first mandolin but only played accompaniment at first, although I taught myself a few tunes by ear. It was my late thirties before I started to play the instrument seriously and I’ve been hooked ever since. A short time later, I also started on the fiddle (though it had been lying about in the house for a year or two before that). As the years went on, I also acquired a couple of octave mandolas (or is it mandolin), a banjo mandolin, and a tenor banjo.
There’s no stopping me now. :-)

I can also play melodies on keyboard instruments but I’m not too hot with the "left hand".

I was thirty when I started on the ‘ol banjo.