hi and o’kane equivalent question.

hi and o’kane equivalent question.

Hi there, My name is Ben and I’m a bodhran and whistle player living in Australia. I’ve been using this site for a while but only recently signed up. I’m a huge ITM fan but make my living primarily as a jazz drummer and music teacher. I have a Bachelor of Music degree from the University of New South Wales so please spare me your "all bodhran players are un-educated tub thumping morons" spiels 🙂!!!!
Now on with my question.

I am a big fan of Seamus O’Kane bodhrans, however as many of you know he’s not taking orders right now. I know Rob Forkner makes a lambeg drum similar to the O’Kane but as I’m travelling to Ireland in June I’m curious to know of any other Irish makers who’s drums are of a similar sound quality and level of responsiveness as the O’Kane’s.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Ben.

Re: hi and o’kane equivalent question.

I don’t know anything about bodhran, but Seamus O’Kane has been teaching in Queen Maeve Summer School in Sligo town. But it’s in the first week of August, and he may not teach this year: http://www.cygo.ie/tradmusic Sorry, it’s not particularly helpful, but if can you meet the gentleman in person, you’ll get more useful advice.

Sounds like you need to track down Ben Stephenson ("Trouble in the Kitchen") he’s likely to know the answers to most all of your questions.
Cheers from the other side of the land down under.
Donough

Thanks for the replies. Ben is actually my teacher so i will enquire with him next time I see him. Still if anyone has any info let me know. I’m really after that lambeg sound and response that is typical of O’kane drums.

Cheers.

Greetings Ben,

I know of no other makers other than Rob who are currently making bodhráns with a Lambeg skin. I’ve played both Seamus’ and Rob’s and if you like the O’Kane’s I believe you will also like a Metloef.