How do you roll a quarter note on an open string?

How do you roll a quarter note on an open string?

I think the question is descriptive enough. I have been questioning this for years. I started playing those notes as triplets, trios, or grace notes. If I played them solid, then I would usually play a chord.

None of the above are correctly representing the short roll. Please tell me what you do that works.

Mark

Re: How do you roll a quarter note on an open string?

good question! i just panic! heh. no really, i use a triplet, or sometimes flick off the first finger then the third, really quickly. that makes no sense and is probobly not helpful…but there you go

Yeah, its one of those curly ones. Zina says you can roll an open string, but I have never known how to do it. I wish she would answer this (because she knows and I don’t).

I sometimes use a cran (if it is a dotted note), sometimes a cut, sometimes a triplet, sometimes some kind of run that fits into the tune and sometimes a fourth finger (or other)/open string double stop (that sometimes works and other times sounds terrible). Depends on the tune and the mood I’m in. Sometimes I just love ornamenting (usually), other times I don’t. You could listen to whistles, flutes or pipes for some ideas then do something appropriate that fits with what they’re doing. You could even just play it straight and leave the ornamentations up to those instruments that find these notes easier than the fiddle to fiddle with. Above all, have fun. Cheers

Posted by .

the second post is about right. but to get that sound of three notes you get with an ordinary roll or a bowed triplet, hit the string lightly with three fingers, 3rd, 2nd, 1st. Just like you would tap your fingers on a table.
There’s other ways of course

Posted .

Try it on the first open E on the foxhunters reel

Posted .

https://thesession.org/discussions/226
is a thread with some of the past discussions