Fiddle setup for a complete beginner

Fiddle setup for a complete beginner

I’m looking at learning the fiddle, went to the local violin/cello shop and was advised to look into what kind of fiddle setup/ strings etc I would want, that would be more suited for ITM. Help! This is all totally new to me.

All advice/pointers muchly appreciated. :)

Re: Fiddle setup for a complete beginner

It depends on who you talk to but I think it would be useful if you made sure to by strings that are not overly sensitive. As a beginner it can be frustrating bnough to get a good sound out of the violin without super sensitive strings getting in the way. I would reccomend buying a decent priced violin as well. I would not go out and spend a grand, but if you buy a instrument that is really bad that can also make life more frustratiing. As far as chin rests and shoulder rest, just experiment around and see what feels more comfterable. None of them will feel extremely comfterable as the feel of a violin on your shoulder is new to you. Just make sure you feel like the violin is supported when you rest your chin on the chin rest without muscle strain in the neck. The longer the neck you have the higher shoulder rest or chin rest might have to be.
Make sure you buy a wooden or fiberglass bow. Plastic ones usually tend to be bulky and hard to control. Make sure you also buy an extra set of strings, and a tuner. Hope I could be of help.

Find a teacher or make friends with a fiddler. Get them to help you shop. :)

Thank you to you both, muchly appreciated. :)

Hey Morgana—another harper turned fiddler, welcome to the ranks!