Micheal O’Domhnaill’s guitar style.

Micheal O’Domhnaill’s guitar style.

Hi guys,

When I started playing the Irish guitar around the mid 1990s, Micheal O’Domhnaill was my hero. At that time, I didn’t know about the other guitarist so much. I listened to Bothy band stuff and learned quite a lot of things.

After that, the more I listened to Irish music, the more guitarists I encountered. All of them have their own style and I borrowed their good ideas in accompanying the tunes. After 10 years of playing, I think I have established my own style somehow.

Recently, I went for a trip for a week or so. My girl friend picked “Portland”, the master piece of Kevin Burke and Micheall, so that we could listen to it while we were driving. I did like this album, but I haven’t listened to it for some time as I have other CDs to listen to. So it was like a revisit for me.
Soon I found out this album is real great. His guitar is still very attractive to me. The voicing of the chords is just very beautiful. The rhythm arrangement is so fascinating. We brought many CDs, but we just keep on listening to this.

Now I feel like learning his guitar style again.

Today I checked the discussions posted lately, and found one discussion with the title of Michael O’Domhnaill (https://thesession.org/discussions/7142). I found many guys said his style is easy to learn. So please teach me his chord forms on any tunes. If you have tablature or something like that, I would be very happy.

Re: Micheal O’Domhnaill’s guitar style.

Have you had a look at Frank Kilkelly’s book on Irish guitar? He deals with a variety of styles but I am sure there would be something in there for you.

Posted by .

Yes, I have his book, but I suppose many chords Micheall uses are more complicated in terms of the chord names though they may come out from very simple chord forms as it is said that they are “two finger job all the way"…