Musical twilight zone

Musical twilight zone

Ok, so my sis has the tv on while I’m studying, and a Toyota Camry comercial just came on and was the music for it was Drunken Sailor. Now, it’s a great tune, but it really wierded me out for a minute. It was nice and surreal. I wonder if they knew that people might recognize the tune?

Re: Musical twilight zone

LOL. My brother recognized it! It rather weirded him out for a moment, too. At first, all he heard was the powerful music, then he realized what it was. We had a good laugh over it. Who would have thought to use Drunken Sailor for a car commercial?!?!

Posted by .

Yeah, I was shocked to say the least, I thought that people would get a kick out of it here…I’m not sure how many people in mainstream society would recognize it. It would be interesting to know if they employed it on purpose or not.

Those musical slips can be fun if they are intentional. Back before DJs ruined weddings, I played in a wedding band, and we used to play "What Kind Of Fool Am I?" when the groom was introduced, just to see if anyone got it…once, a loud argument broke out at a bar-mitzvah, so we sailed into the "Theme from Rocky"…no one noticed…

I went to a wedding where the first record the DJ played was Please Release Me - the bride wasn’t overly impressed!

They should have played ‘Tragedy’ by Steps.

While for those who prefer a good old fashioned hymn at a wedding, why not have Fight the Good Fight, or Through the Night of Doubt and Sorrow.

So long as you don’t play "I buried my wife and danced on her grave"!

I know someone who wanted "Congratulations", by Cliff Richard, played at her wedding. Fine, until you know what the rest of the lyrics are.

Actually, wrong song. Give me an hour to wake up…

Yeah, they have been running that commercial during Red Sox games. And yes, people here in New England all recognize that tune—it is to the sea chantey community what the Wild Rover are to the Irish community.