The Guitar and Irish Traditional Music - What’s the Story?

The Guitar and Irish Traditional Music - What’s the Story?

If you were to ask any musician at any session in Ireland what they thought of Steve Cooney or Arty McGlynn, Tony McManus or Chris Newman you could expect a range of positive answers like,

Genius Brilliant,Superb, or very occasionally, Who?

These four musicians along with a host of others including M

Re: The Guitar and Irish Traditional Music - What’s the Story?

I find the current guitar debate somewhat mystifying as its place in the music can hardly be questioned by this stage. I have been playing with guitarists for almost 30 years. The only question is, as with all players, one of competence. Whilst I still personally prefer the bouzouki — and the old six string Greek variety at that — a good guitarist is most definitely a great addition to a session. But, to state the obvious, no accompaniment is required.Even 2 whistles make for a session, two guitars, unless the guitarists can play the tunes, do not. What I can say, very broadly speaking of course, is that the role of guitar is better understood in Ireland, if only because the Irish session is a much less forgiving environment than its US counterpart and flashy exhibitionists would soon be humbled.

Michael, is that you up there perchance, ye divil ye?
;

Blimey, was that the longest post in this web sites history?

(And since when was the violin an irish instrument?

Posted .

One instrument which vies with the guitar in the unpopularity stakes is the bodhr