Great tunes

Great tunes

After looking at some new tune postings, I started thinking (not for the first time) what the ingredients are for those really great tunes, that excite us all tremendously and make us want to play them all night, or write another one for everyone else to enjoy. For me, the mode is very important - I’m always at first more interested in dorian and mixolydian tunes, various keys, usually what works well to make my fiddle sound good. But they also have to be structured with balance and flavour, and here is where I get stuck. When I say *flavour*, what do I mean? I’d love to hear what players and composers think.
Fiddlefingers

Re: Great tunes

I am a self taught traditional player, with a very sketchy knowledge of the technical side of the music. I have always had this fear that if I learn all the nuts & bolts, the magic will be lost, but that’s just me. I’m sure the next man is quite happy to soak up all that techno - gobbledeegook, but the magic for me is that you really don’t need any of it, to be able to play thousands of tunes. It’s a bit like in a Disney cartoon, you just pluck them from the air, & in the playing, cast them back up there again for the next person to take down. For example, I won 2nd place in the All Ireland senior Concertina competion a few years ago, & at that time, I could not read music, & in fact could not have told you the notes on the instrument, but I could play the tunes, obviously!. That information was surplus to requirements, I knew in my ear which button produced which sound, so why would I need to know the letter for the note. I already had hundreds of Fiddle tunes I’d learned by ear, & I just played loads of those. Now, you may say that if I’d actually learned the notes, I might have won that year, but it was the only time I ever tried to compete, & afterwards I had to ask myself ‘what is the point of a competition for traditional music’. Other than maybe encouraging a youngster to practice real hard, which