Can anyone else relate to this?? I suspect so…

Can anyone else relate to this?? I suspect so…

I was just wondering if anyone else has come across the problem of greedy relatives and instruments…..
What I mean is that both of my great grandfathers played fiddle, and when my sister and I started playing, we kind of assumed that if we stuck with it, we would get them. Well, it’s been 5 years, and still nothing. One of them went to a greedy aunt who will not give it to us because it "might be worth something" and it’s just sitting in a closet somewhere, while the other went to my mom’s cousin because one of her kids is taking violin lessons. That’s all fine and good, except they think the instrument is c%*$ because it is all scratched up and stuff. So they bought the kid some expensive and shiny new violin, and the other one doesn’t even get touched.
It just seems like such a waste, with them not even being played, I mean they could sound great, but I guess we’ll never know!!

Re: Can anyone else relate to this?? I suspect so…

That’s a very sad situation. You have something more than just music here- you have a family heirloom. You can buy a violin anytime, but you can never buy one owned by your great-grandfather.

I’d go to your greedy aunt and your mom’s cousin and stress the family heirloom angle. It sounds as if you and your sister are the ones who have demonstrated a willingness to learn to play well, and wouldn’t it be great, Auntie, to hear Great-Grandad’s fiddle played the way he did and to know it will be played by my children, too?

I consider myself extremely lucky to have my grandfather’s violin. It cost me hundreds to restore but it was worth every penny, and I use it in my session. Good luck to you and to your sister!