Teachers, what makes a good student?

Teachers, what makes a good student?

I’m contemplating taking some lessons on my new sensuous flute, possibly with Bill Ochs here in NYC. I’ve always been self taught, in fact I hate asking for help - maybe as the oldest of 5 kids I’m just used to having to figure stuff out myself. So I was wondering what makes for a good student - from the teacher’s point of view. Give me some good advice to keep in mind if I go forward with this unusual plan.

Posted by .

Re: Teachers, what makes a good student?

Always arrive in time, and never forget to pay.
Practice, practice, practice.
Make lesson time a civil, pleasant, music-making time.

Every teacher will have his or her own preferences on this, but to me it sure seems easier and more fun to teach someone who has their own personal sense of what to put into the music, especially if they’re already well acquainted with the genre. So I encourage students to listen, listen, listen to other good players, and to tinker with the tunes when they play them themselves.

A "good" student also practices a lot between lessons, asks lots of relevant questions (even if they’re not sure whether they’re relevant), and is willing to spend extra time learning to nail things like timing, tone, and clarity instead of just amassing tunes.

I also encourage students to learn by ear but also to learn to sight read standard notation and abcs. So it’s nice when a person is open-minded and brings a can-do attitude to the lessons. (It’s not unusual for adults to announce at the first lesson that they have tried and will never be able to (1) read music, or (2) learn by ear. Too many people mistakenly think that the two skills are somehow mutually exclusive. This rarely happens with kids.)