Where did the fiddle originate from?

Where did the fiddle originate from?

I hope this does not seem like a very stupid question but……where does the fiddle actually originate from and how far can it be traced back? How did it make its way into ITM?

Since learning to play the tenor banjo ( self taught) for the last four years I have become very fond of the sound of the fiddle especially in ITM.

Its an amazing instrument small in size but in the hands of a good player can sound so powerful and yet so graceful what ever the music or player calls for. Playing my banjo in the Irish tuning i.e GDAE an octave below a fiddle, its great to be able to pick up some fiddle books and learn the tunes with the same fingering…and in a way get into the minds and expression of how a fiddle player would play in ITM

Thanks

Dave

Re: Where did the fiddle originate from?

It came from China, i think?
Anyway, there’s been fiddles around at least since the middle ages.

Well, the actual fiddle evolved from a medieval instrument called "fidula"; the name itself is an originally French word deriving from the latin "fidula".
It’s very interesting the fact that the folk tradition, which is strongly linked to medieval, renaissance and baroque music, preserved the name of the ancient instrument.