casey burns

casey burns

so. a little background..
i’ve played boehm-system flute for seven years now, and i’ve just started playing irish music (although i’ve been listening to it for a long time already, and i love it.)
i bought a tony dixon tuneable D, and i like it a lot.
and now i’d really like a simple-system wooden flute,

i have wee little hands who’ve both endured surgery just a couple months ago, and they simple cannot handle the only irish flute i’ve really played yet: a sweetheart. the stretch is awfully uncomfortable and after playing only ten minutes or so, my right hand was throbbing so bad.

so! i’ve been drooling over the casey burns small-handed flutes.
however i’m a college student and don’t have tons of money.
…however i’m a music major (and all i mean by that is, i don’t stink at music and it is/is going to be my life.) and i don’t want a "beginner’s" flute… i want one that’ll do me real good.

so my question is:
is there a great difference (quality, tone, volume, playability, whatever!) between a casey burns folk flute (mopane, small-handed) and his regular ("professional") small-handed mopane flute? you know, besides the $200 dollars :P and the free one-year check-up that comes with the more expensive one.

also. as a side-note/question thingy.
i love the look of an all-wood flute, and i actually really don’t like the look of his flutes with the tuning slides in ‘em. but even on his own website, he says the little bit of metal lining in the headjoint due the having a tuning slide makes his mopane flutes sound better.
i don’t doubt that it is true… but is it worth it?
and.. you can’t get your slide-less flute retrofitted with a slide can you?

alright. all done.
thanks a bunch.

oh PS!
grey larson’s book (the essential guide to irish flute and tin whistle) is really good.

Re: casey burns