when your playing falls apart

when your playing falls apart

I’ve been playing for about three years now and have been through many phases where I thought I was making progress only to find myself in another phase where it sounded like I was going backwards. Lately I have been trying to learn a bunch of tunes but when I go back and play those I know they all sound like crap. Either I forget a part, the timing is bad, my bowing gets mixed up, etc. You would think that after three years of playing I should be able to recall and play relatively well tunes I have played hundreds of times. There must come a point when your technical/musical proficiency can compensate for not playing a tune for awhile.

Posted by .

Re: when your playing falls apart

Beg your pardon.
Hey, 21 …

Posted by .

The glass is half full…perhaps it is because you are learning and progressing. Your new skills are forcing you to revise the way you play your old tunes.

Posted by .

life’s full of phases. best not to worry which one you’re in for the next phase may not be better than the one before.

you sound very frustrated. even the tunes you know won’t come out very well when you’re frustrated.

don’t worry about all the tunes you do or don’t know. just find one right now that you like to play and work on that. i suspect if you stop putting so much pressure on yourself you’re tune recall abilities will improve tremendously.

and don’t worry about forgetting tunes along the way. some day somewhere you’ll be reminded of it again and, like an old friend, you can sit down and "catch up."

in any case, good luck with it!

Its sounds to me like your cramming for an exam.
Take your time.