I’ve been doing it wrong all these years !

I’ve been doing it wrong all these years !

Ever been listening to someone elses band and had an epipheny ? (come on I get points for the use of language alone, probably not for spelling though !). Myself and my partner (an aspiring whistle player) went up to the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen last night to hear Flook, a great band and I’ve listened to their tunes for a while now, the show was great. So I’m sitting there messmerized by the guitarist, I’ve been playing backing for tunes now for about 11 years, I’ve played with some really good people, some of them even semi famous in this little world of ITM but I was so impressed by this guys style and sheer energy, he did a lot in DADGAD, although he switched to concert with consumate ease, it was the sheer energy of the rythm, not that he was madly chaging chords or anything but just the way he played them, holding the rythm line on a single melodic hanging chord……I came home and hit the net to find out more about DADGAD, now I’ve flirted with it in the past and I use it a lot for songs but I’ve always shied away from using it to back tunes. Can anyone point me at a good site ? I’ve listeded to loads of people who use the tuning for chordal backing and picking tunes but I really just want to accompany tunes with it and the wonderful rythms I heard last night.

Re: I’ve been doing it wrong all these years !

I was there too, and I, and the several whistle-players in the audience could say the same thing about our styles of playing in relation to Brian Finnegan’s playing. I think that would be ridiculous, we don’t "play it wrong" - just different, and I think the same would apply to you.