Buzzing reeds on a piano accordion

Buzzing reeds on a piano accordion

I’ve recently purchased a piano accordion and a couple of the reeds make a slight buzzing sound. There’s only one that buzzes loud enough to be a major problem, but several seem to be starting.

Is there an easy fix, or do I need to source some new reeds. And can you even buy single reeds, or do you have to buy a whole set? Is it the sort of maintenance you can do at home?

It’s not a major problem yet as I’m only learning, but I know it will start to bug me when I get more proficient.

The box is a Chinese Baile 120 bass.

Cheers,
Eno 🙂

Re: Buzzing reeds on a piano accordion

Hi Eno

Sounds like the reeds are coming loose from their wooden mounting - hence the buzzing or gurgling sound. They need to be re-set with beeswax (NOT candlewax - no good).
Baile accordions aren’t known for their fine craftsmanship so this may become a recurring problem; therefore I wouldn’t bother with new reeds; I would probably consider getting a good second-hand accordion or a new one if it’s within budget.

As Conán points out, questionable quality control can lead to recurring problems, and these symptoms might be only the first ones of a constellation of others that may appear and plague this instrument, or not. The wax would be more likely to disintegrate on an accordion that frequently was exposed to extreme swings in air temperature, or one that is aged (setting aside initial quality control issues).