How to know if a tune is a waltz or a mazurka or a three-two?

How to know if a tune is a waltz or a mazurka or a three-two?

I’m a beginner in this… and I was going to submit Mike Hobin’s but I don’t know if it’s a waltz… or a mazurka… or even a three-two…
How to know that in all the tunes in general?

(Mike Hobin’s is the first tune in Lúnasa’s album Sé)

Re: How to know if a tune is a waltz or a mazurka or a three-two?

Ask any bodhran player you know to help in the enlightenment.

Good idea, but I don’t know anyone.

Try to dance to the tune-you’ll soon know.

Good idea too, but I can’t dance.

Could anyone listen to the first tune (Mike Hobin’s) in the last Lúnasa’s album Sé and tell me if it’s a mazurka or what it is etc so that I can submit it here? Thanks.

Waltz - emphasis on the first beat with a lighter and slightly delayed second and third beat.

Mazurka - "Mazurs, obereks, and other dances from this group are in triple meter and contain the mazurka rhythms consisting of a pattern of two sixteenths followed by two eighth-notes (in a three-eighths meter), i.e. two short and two long notes…In the music, strong accents are irregularly placed on the second or third beat of the measure." For more see
http://www.fiu.edu/~kneskij/mazurka/index.htm
and scroll down to "Music".

Three-Two - don’t really know - ?? sorry, can someone else fill in here?

If you are familiar with the Scottish song "Cam Ye Ower Frae France" that’s a three two.

It depends to a certain extent on how it’s played - something you can’t tell from the sheet music.

If you count ‘1-2-3’ to a *waltz*, you are unlikely to find more than two notes to each beat. As Stewart says above, the first beat has a strong accent. The slightly delayed second beat is, I believe, a feature of a true Viennese waltz, but waltzes are often played with the beats evenly spaced.