Green Fields

By Robin Bullock

  1. The Pivot Brig
    The Three Little Drummers
    The Wandering Minstrel
  2. Luke Dylan
  3. The Dunmore Lasses
    Crockett’s Honeymoon
    The Lansdowne Lass
  4. Donna’s
  5. The Doubtful Guest
    The Snakebite
  6. Gae Bring To Me A Pint O’ Wine
  7. Lady Forbes
    Boil The Breakfast Early
  8. Loftus Jones
    Deborah Marie
  9. The Market Town
    The Cuckoo’s Nest
  10. Farewell To Craigie Dhu
  11. An Ugly Customer
    The Dark Night
  12. The Green Fields Of America

One comment

Bullock (of Helicon fame— originally based in DC, now in France) on cittern, 6- and 12-string guitars, bass guitar, and fiddle. This CD was released in 1992 through the Dorian label, and if I’m not mistaken, was Robin’s first solo release.

Tune selection is mostly traditional Irish. A handful are Robin’s own compositions, one is traditional American, a few come from O’Carolan, one is from Josie MacDermott, and some Scottish including one tune each by Dougie MacLean and Phil Cunningham.

Of Robin’s recordings, this is actually the one I bought last, fearing that a first recording might be rough around the edges, but nothing could be further from the truth. You really can’t go wrong with any of his recordings. Very much worth checking out.