Fiddler’s Fancy: The Music Of James Hill

By Tom McConville

  1. The Quayside
  2. The Champion
  3. The Cliff
  4. Hill’s No 8
  5. The Gateshead
  6. The Pear Tree
  7. The Cage
  8. The High Level
  9. Flight Of Fancy
  10. The Hawk
  11. The Barber’s Pole
  12. Beeswing
  13. The Lads Like Beer
    The Marquis Of Waterford
  14. The Hawk
  15. Proudlock’s Fancy
  16. Fiddler’s Fancy
  17. Bottle Bank
  18. Blaydon Flats
  19. Earl Grey

Three comments

Fiddler’s Fancy: The Music of James Hill

Tom McConville - fiddle
Chris Newman - guitar
Jane Pogson - viola
Máire Ní Chathasaigh - whistle

Old Bridge Music OBMCD04, 2001
PO Box 7,
Ilkley, West Yorkshire,
LS29 9RY, UK
Tel: +44 (0)1943 602203
Fax: +44 (0)1943 435472

Bit disappointed with this one; the fiddling on it flattens out a lot of the angularity which gives Hill’s tunes their individual character, and some are taken at too great a lick to do them justice either as hornpipes or reels.
Some nice bits nonetheless, notably one or two fairly obscure pieces.

I’ll modify my comments above by applying them to half-a-dozen tracks that are played fast. There’s some beautiful stuff on this album, including a number played in hornpipe time and a rare jig (Flight Of Fancy).