Northumberland Rant

By Various Artists

  1. Archie’s Fancy
    Holey Ha’penny
  2. Keening The Wind
    Alston Flower Show
  3. Torryburn Lasses
    The Wandering Tinker
    Marry Me Now
    Mrs. Wedderburn
    Randy Wives Of Greenlaw
    La Russe
    The Winshield’s
    Jane’s Fancy
    Da Road To Houll
  4. Rothbury Hills
    Whittingham Green Lane
    The Cott
    Border Fray
  5. Murray River
    Roland And Cynthia Taylor
    Alistair J. Sim
  6. I Saw My Love Come Passing By Me
  7. Captain Norman Orr Ewing
    Redford Cottage
  8. The Lady’s Well
    The Cliff
  9. Dargai
  10. Skye Crofters
  11. Speed The Plough
  12. There’s Nae Guid Luck About The House
    High Level
  13. Robertson’s
    The Grand Chain
  14. Jock Of Hazeldean
    Gentle Maiden
  15. The Pearl Wedding
    Nancy Taylor’s
  16. Lament For Ian Dickson
  17. Keel Row
    Durham Rangers
    Yankee Doodle
  18. Miss Hannah Ormston
    Katie Elliot’s
  19. Mr. Nelson’s Birthday
  20. Border Spirit

Eight comments

1999. Smithsoniam Folkways Recording. With the notable exception of Tom Clough, this CD contains some of the best recorded playing of traditional Northumbrian music.

“Northumberland Rant” ~ artists & instrumentation

S = Northumbrian Smallpipes
F = Fiddle
C = Concertina
A = Accordion
G = Guitar
O = Mouth Organ
M = Mandolin

01.) Billy Pigg - S
02.) Chris Ormston - S
03.) The High Level Ranters - FCAG
04.) Jack Armstrong - S
05.) Willie Taylor - F
06.) Anthony Robb - S
07.) Willie Taylor, Joe Hutton & Will Atkinson - FSO
08.) Pauline Cato - S
09.) Anthony Robb - S
10.) Billy Pigg - S
11.) Wayne Robertson & Nigel Jelks - AM
12.) Joe Hutton - S
13.) Billy Pigg - S
14.) Willie Taylor - F
15.) Colin Ross - S
16.) Willie Taylor - F
17.) Anthony Robb - S
18.) Jack Armstrong and the Barnstormers - Band
19.) Chris Ormston - S
20.) Kathryn Tickell - SF
21.) Billy Pigg - S

Track 7 ~ is wrong on this recording and in the accompanying booklet

7.) Dance De Chez Nous / Aunt Mary’s Canadian / Neil Taylor’s

No, it isn’t any of these, and it is only two tunes. The track listing has been corrected so that it will link to the proper transcriptions once they are on site…

7.) March: Captain Norman Orr Ewing / Jig: Redford Cottage

Oops! ~ I wrongly thought this was one I’d contributed. I’ll have to see if Colin is about and will make the changes? 😏


Thanks ceolachan, I had a listen and changed the track listing.

Is the information in the linear notes true for the tune title (published on the CD) or for the actual tune played?

The liner notes are mostly about the musicians, and you can hear them on track 7, as well as the setting, but the tune information is incorrect.

The set,

“Dance De Chez Nous” / “Aunt Mary’s Canadian Jig” / “Neil Taylor’s Jig”,

was recorded by “The Shepherds” and is on another recording ~ “Harthope Burn: Music from Northumberland and the Border Country”,1983. This is no longer available, and I’m not alone in wishing it were… 🙁

Re: Northumberland Rant

For the time in which they were recorded, Tom Clough’s recordings are of a fairly good quality.