The Raineys

By The Raineys

Added by Jiml .
  1. The Woman Of The House
  2. Over The Moor To Maggie
    The Star Of Munster
  3. The Lark In The Morning
  4. Bonnie Irish Boy
  5. The Mason’s Apron
  6. The Sally Gardens
    The Bird In The Bush
    The Sligo Maid
  7. The Woodlands Of Loughglynn
  8. The Templehouse
    The Swallow’s Tail
    The Sally Gardens
  9. The Lark On The Strand
    The Black Rogue
    The Frost Is All Over
  10. The Fermoy Lasses
  11. The Woodlands Of Loughglynn
  12. The Collier’s
    Rakish Paddy
  13. The Hunter’s Purse
  14. The Valley Of Knockanure
  15. Katie Daly
  16. The Rainy Day
    The Jolly Tinker

Three comments

The Raineys

This is a recent release from the Pavee Point Travellers Centre. The CD of Paddy and Stephen Rainey on fiddle recorded in Freeney’ Pub in Letterfrack, Connemara, in 1956. Their sister Brigid sings three songs.

According to the excellent CD notes, the Rainey family were well known Traveller musicians in Galway over several generations. In summer they travelled in Connemara and in the winter they withdrew to east Galway. The sound quality of the CD is surprisingly good considering it was recorded over 51 years ago.

I would highly recommend this CD to anyone who prefers traditional music a little raw and less polished than most modern-day recordings.

Posted by .

Noise Reduction

This sounds to me like someone went overboard with the noise reduction software… There’s almost as much removal artifact as their is original recording. That said, the music is outstanding and very highly recommended! I only wish there was more information available.

I’m sad to say that while googling for contact info for some of the people involved with this recording, I found the (recent) obituary for the man who recorded the Rainey’s, Tony Knowland.,,1984811,00.html

Their rhythm is fantastic- and I love the way some tunes just seem to fall to bits at the end, as if they don’t really want to stop. Their version of ‘Lark in the Morning’ is particularly impressive.
A minor point: the order of tunes on Track 2 is the reverse of what it says on the notes.