Dance Music Of Ireland, Volume 6

By Matt Cunningham

  1. The Plough And The Stars
    The Wind That Shakes The Barley
  2. The Lilting Fisherman
    Trip To Kilavil
  3. The Cottage In The Grove
    The Sailor On The Rock
    The Mountain Top
  4. Jackson’s Morning Brush
    Tongs By The Fire
    Tripping Upstairs
  5. Over The Moor To Maggie
    The Mountain Road
    Tim Mulloney
  6. John Walsh’s No 1
    Dan Mac’s
    Terry Teahan’s
  7. Liberty Belle
  8. The Centenary
    The Mountain High
  9. Miss Monaghan
    The Liffey Banks
  10. The Mist-Covered Mountain
    Pay The Reckoning
  11. Tom Ward’s Downfall
    The Merry Blacksmith
  12. Sweeney’s
    Oh! The Britches Full Of Stitches
  13. The Honeysuckle
    The Thames
  14. Sweet Biddy Daly
    Sixpenny Money
  15. The Eavesdropper
    The Broken Gold Ring
  16. The Humours Of Drinagh
    The Moate Hunt
    When Sick Is It Tea You Want?
  17. Out On The Ocean
    The Frost Is All Over
  18. Lad O’Beirne’s
    The Tinker’s Daughter

Five comments

Dance Music Of Ireland Volume 6 by Matt Cunningham

Note that the way the tunes are arranged in the sets on the tracks does not necessarily correspond to the way in which those sets would be played in sessions. This is because the sets on the CD are for set dancers to dance to, and an essential feature of this is that a set for dancing has to have a definite number of bars to match the dancers’ movements, and this number of bars isn’t always an exact multiple of the 32 bar (2x8+2x8) structure of many tunes.

Dance Music Of Ireland Volume 6 by Matt Cunningham

Track 14 is clearly two separate tunes, "Sweet Biddy Daly", and "Sixpenny Money"

"Dance Music of Ireland: Volume 6" ~ tracks & dances

1 - 6: The Corofin Plain Set, 6 figures ~ County Clare

7: Couple Dance ~ The Military Two-Step

8: Couple Dance ~ The Gay Gordons

9 - 13: The Monaghan Set, 5 figures

14 - 18: The Black Valley Square Jig Set ~ County Kerry

"Dance Music of Ireland: Volume 6"

Ainm Records ARCD016, 1999

"Matt Cunningham’s Dance Music of Ireland" - a collection of 298 traditional Irish dance tunes with chords, as featured on his first 10 recordings, volumes 1 - 10 of "Dance Music of Ireland".

Dave Mallinson Publications, 1999

Dance Music Of Ireland Volume 6 by Matt Cunningham

There is one tune, "Liberty Belle", on CD Volume 6 which isn’t in the tune book (and I believe it is the only such one in the 10-volume collection), - for copyright reasons. But the dots are available elsewhere 😉
Actually, there is reason to believe that the tune has come out of copyright since the publication of the tune book.