Ae Spark O Nature’s Fire

By Deaf Shepherd

  1. Gie Us A Drink Of Water
    John MacDonald’s Exercise
    The Deaf Shepherd
    The Smith Of Raasay
    The Aberarder Rant
  2. The Glen House
    Mrs. Jean Campbell B. Sc.
  3. Gin Ye Kiss Ma Wife I’ll Go An’ Tell The Minister
    Seamus Gibson’s
    The Silver Spear
    Scotch Mary
  4. Logan Braes
  5. Ross Battery
    Johann McTartan
    Lochiel’s Awa Tae France
    Flowers Of Redhill
  6. Finbarr Saunders
    Chloe’s Passion
    Dhamhsadh Coinnach Ri Inghinn
    Michael McGoldrick’s
  7. Flagstone Of Memories
    The Pawn Of Madness
    Ah, Surely
  8. Peggy Gordon
  9. Gav On Crutches
    The Foxhunter
    Gav On Crutches
    The Poison Dwarf
    Roddy Campbell’s Favourite
  10. Lost For Words At Sea
  11. Out In The Night
    Thomas McElvogue’s
    An Dro

One comment

Ae Spark o Nature’s Fire: the Debut Album of the terrific Scottish Band

Deaf Shepher are Clare McLaughlin (fiddle), John Morran (guitar and vocal), Rory Campbell (pipes and whistles), Malcolm Stitt (bouzouki and guitar), and Angus McLaghlin (bodhran).

I always regret Scottish folk music is overwhelmed by commercially successful Irish trad. music. I appreciate both, but I cannot understand why this band is not so well known as Lunasa or Solas.

In my opinion, Deaf Shepherd is similar to Solas (though the American band is now away from the traditional music). All the members are individually prominent musicians; it characterizes acoustic approaches with some modern arrangement; and it features both lyrical and passionate sets.

If you think Scottish folk music is less attractive than Irish one, try this band. I’m sure it will rock you.