The Gold Ring - CD 1 Of 2

By Willie Clancy

  1. Down The Back Lane
    Sergeant Early’s
  2. An Bhean Tincéara
    The Ravelled Hank Of Yarn
  3. The Bold Trainer
  4. The Connaught Heifers
    Corney Is Coming
  5. The Frieze Britches
  6. The Steampacket
    Rakish Paddy
  7. The Trip Over The Mountain
  8. The Faithful Friend
    The Plains Of Boyle
  9. Fraher’s
    An Phis Fhliuch
  10. Dark Lochnagar
  11. Jenny Picking Cockles
    My Love Is In America
  12. Kitty Got A Clinking Coming From The Fair
  13. Give Us A Drink Of Water
    Hardiman The Fiddler
    Will You Come Down To Limerick?
  14. The Rolling Wave
  15. An Ghaoth Aniar Aneas
  16. Garret Barry’s
  17. The Old Bush
  18. The Rocks Of Bawn
  19. The West Wind
    Seán Reid’s Fancy
  20. Páidín Ó Raifeartaigh
  21. Ar Éirinn Ní Neosfainn Cé Hí
  22. The Harvest Home
  23. Casadh An tSúgáin
  24. Gan Ainm
  25. The Little Red Lark
  26. I Buried My Wife And Danced On Top Of Her
  27. The Milliner’s Daughter
  28. The Fowler On The Moor
  29. A Chailleach, Do Mharais Mé
  30. Seán Ó Duibhir A’ Ghleanna
  31. Caisleán Dhún Guaire
  32. Mount Phoebus Hunt
  33. Sliabh Na mBan
  34. Róisín Dubh

Six comments

“Willie Clancy: The Gold Ring” - a 2 CD set - CD 1 Of 2

RTE, 01/01/2010, RTE276CD

“The tracks on this two CD set were selected by RTÉ radio presenter and producer Peter Browne and come from the RTÉ Libraries and Archives as well as number of other organisations and private collectors. This double CD is a most comprehensive collection of Willie Clancy’s piping from a period of over twenty years. It brings together recordings from many different places, times and sources and provides the opportunity to hear over two and a half hours of his playing.”

Must have of course, only let down for me is that 1/3 of this stuff is already available on the Pipering records. You should hear some of the stuff from the archives they could have put on here!

I have… 😉