The Trip To Carrick

By Lamond Gillespie, Cormac Gannon And John Blake

  1. The Swallow’s Tail
    The Maids Of Mount Cisco
  2. Faca Sibh Máiri Nighean An Alasdair (Have You Seen Mary, Daughter Of Alasdair)
  3. The Blackberry Blossom
  4. The Braes Of Lochiel
    The Laurel Tree
  5. Caoineadh Uí Domhnaill (Lament For O’Donnell)
  6. The Pigeon On The Gate
    Down The Meadow
  7. Tha Mi Sgíth (I Am Tired)
  8. Bunker Hill
    The Hare’s Paw
  9. Three Little Drummers
  10. The Green Groves Of Erin
    The Flogging
  11. The Groves
  12. Ceo Ar A’gCnoic
    Sporting Paddy
  13. The Broken Pledge
    Kitty Down The Lane
  14. Lovely Molly
    Governor Taylor’s
    Lovely Molly
  15. Love At The Ending
    The Bucks Of Oranmore

Three comments

The Trip to Carrick - Own Label - LCB 001

Released in December 2011 on their own label, this is a stunning album of fiddle and pipe music, accompanied on piano by John Blake. Every dance tune is full of lilt, lift, and drive, and Gannon’s version of the Lament for O’Donnell is absolutely breathtaking. I strongly suspect that the slip jig on track 2 is set to become a session classic…

Available from Custy’s:

1. Reels
2. Slip Jig
3. Reels
4. Waltz & Reel
5. Air
6. Reels
7. March
8. Reels
9. Jigs
10. Reels
11. Hornpipe
12. Reels
13. Reels
14. Marches
15. Reels

Pipes, Fiddle and Piano

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I was told it was a Pipes & fiddle duet backed by piano. But, on first hearing, I just couldn’t get enough of the album. All tunes are played at a steady, lively pace and the harmony between each musician is very evident in the tightness of their playing.