Sprag Session

By Sprag Session

  1. The Gwanwitcha
  2. Gillian Jigs
  3. Mabou Pizza Boy
  4. An Drò
    Ridée Du Pays De Redon
  5. Paddy’s
  6. Good Ship Tommy Fun
  7. Sleepless
  8. Digsy’s Trip To Sonya
  9. Dr. Hayes
  10. S’nice​-​a​-​tron
  11. Jenn And Anthony’s
  12. Frank & Flo’s
    The Salty Boys

Five comments

Sprag Session

Sprag Session has developed a unique style and repertoire of music. Lingering somewhere amidst the rich, soulful roots of traditional Cape Breton music and the grooves of a thousand branches of rock and funk, Sprag Session has found an open ear in everyone from indie scenesters to blue-haired bingo stampers. Far from the awkward malaise of mohawked bagpipers and kilted punks, Sprag Session has created a kind of Celtic fusion that is as much Béla Fleck and the Flecktones and Frank Zappa as it is Ashley MacIsaac.

Sprag Session’s debut album was recorded at Sonic Temple in Halifax by noted engineer Darren van Niekerk. Award-winning engineer Jamie Foulds at Soundpark Studios in Sydney carried out mixing and mastering. It will be released on April 3, 2012. The album features 12 tracks of original Celtic instrumental music with a 63-minute running time. The album incorporates compositions by band members Colin Grant, Darren McMullen, and Jason Roach. The music is primarily Celtic Rock-Funk, incorporating elements of Disco, Reggae, Bluegrass, and World music.

Released 03 April 2012

Members: Colin Grant - fiddle Darren McMullen - guitar/mandolin/banjo Jason Roach - piano Donnie Calabrese - bass Colin Clarke - drums

Oh, and track 2 is "Gillian Jigs" rather than "Gillan Jiggs".

Have updated track info, including the second tune on track 4 (Ridée du Pays de Redon), which is not named on the CD but is named on Colin Grant’s solo CD, "Fun for the Whole Family".

Thanks Donald! The Gwanwitcha is indeed one of my favorite tracks in this album… Great melody.. Very complex sounds..