By Ross Ainslie

  1. Change
  2. Fly Higher
  3. Lullaby For Mel
  4. Dreaming Daisy
  5. Remembering
  6. Sharat And Gyan’s
    Chewing Skins
  7. Jock Speaks
  8. Head Highs
  9. Nowhere To Go (Part A)
  10. Nowhere To Go (Part B)
  11. Gordy’s Trip To Benidorm
    Earl Grey

One comment


Ross Ainslie is one of Scotland’s finest traditional musicians and composers, playing pipes, whistles and cittern. He is renowned for his highly acclaimed solo material, and as a skilled performer and prolific collaborator who performs regularly with bands Treacherous Orchestra – of which he is a founding member - Salsa Celtica, Dougie Maclean, Charlie Mckerron, India Alba, and with Jarlath Henderson.
He has also received industry recognition for his talent with nominations for Musician of the year at BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards in 2013 and Best Duo at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards in 2014 with Jarlath Henderson, nominations for Best Instrumentalist at the Scots Trad Music Awards in 2010 and 2012, nomination for Album of the year at the Scots Trad Awards with his debut solo Album “Wide Open” in 2013, as well as nominations in Best Live Act category at the Scots Trad Music Awards with Jarlath Henderson in 2008, and with Treacherous Orchestra in 2009 and 2010. His solo album “Wide Open” was number 9 of 50 in The Scottish albums of 2013 in the Sunday Herald.

In January 2015 Ross was commissioned by Celtic Connections to write a piece for the New Voices series. Ross decided to go outside his comfort zone and try out songwriting for the first time and “Remembering” is what he achieved.

“Remembering” features five songs and three tune sets, from “Head High” which is a song about remaining positive and not dwelling in the past that features some words by the living legend Jock Duncan to a kind of psychedelic, thrash grass suite called “Nowhere To Go” which is in three sections. “Lullaby For Mel” was written for Ross’s friend that he lost far too early and it shows his flair for writing a beautiful slow melody. The album opens with a song called “Change” that reflects on Ross’s drinking days and the decision to go sober. Overall “Remembering” is an open and honest piece of music.
released 14 August 2015

Produced by Ross Ainslie and Andrea Gobbi
Recorded live at TPot Studios, Path of Condie, Dunning
Additional recording at Carrier Waves Studios, Glasgow
Engineered by Andrea Gobbi
Mixed at Carrier Waves Studios by Andrea Gobbi and Ross Ainslie
Mastered by Stuart Hamilton at Castlesound Studio
Photos by David Owen Blackley
Design by Somhairle Macdonald

All Music and Lyrics composed by Ross Ainslie PRS/MCPS
except Dreaming Daisy composed by Ross Ainslie and Hamish Napier PRS/MCPS

1 CHANGE 4:31





6 SKINS 5:22


8 HEAD HIGH 4:52

9 NOWHERE TO GO (part A) 1:53

10 NOWHERE TO GO (part B) 3:26

11 NOWHERE TO GO (part C) 3:07

TOTAL 45:59


Ross Ainslie - Highland Pipes, Whistles, Cittern, Vocals (Head High)
Ali Hutton - Acoustic Guitar
Gordy Duncan Jr - Drums, Vocals (Change)
Hamish Napier - Keys, Vocals (Dreaming Daisy)
James Lindsay - Bass
Jock Duncan - Words
John Somerville - Accordion
Laura-Beth Salter - Mandolin, Vocals (Head High, Nowhere To Go and Dreaming Daisy)
Laura Wilkie - Fiddle, Vocals
Matheu Watson - Electric Guitar
Steven Byrnes - Vocals (Fly Higher)

Listen NOW!!