By Scott Wood Band

  1. Spice Of Life
    Pitlochry High School Centenary
    Bulgarian Red
  2. The Grassy Hill
    James Pringle
  3. Craro
  4. Sheep Running About
  5. Looking Through
    The Portnahaven
  6. Breath
  7. All The 8’s
    The Orchid Society
  8. Mr. Sloan
  9. McCready’s
  10. Dr. Alasdair Mackenzie
    Barber Ave.
  11. Brookhall Bride

One comment


Much has changed since their first EP as a trio in 2012. The Scott Wood Band have embraced their musical and personnel change, and created a ground-breaking debut album entitled: Upsurge.

Described as “a collaboration of the most promising young Scottish Musicians”, and fronted by one of the world’s leading young bagpipers, the band features finalists from the BBC Young Traditional Musician of the Year and BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year competitions. In 2014, they achivements were recognised when they were nominated as ‘Folk Band of the Year’ at the Scots Trad Music Awards.

They have collectively toured the world with bands such as: Mànran, Wolfstone, Skerryvore, Rura, The Mischa MacPherson Trio, Fat-Suit and the Red Hot Chilli Pipers, and band’s large and diverse following has already seen them entertain at many major festivals throughout the UK and Europe.

Released on Oak Ridge Records, Upsurge was recorded in February 2015 during a 5 day residential at Castlesound Studios, Scotland. Containing primarily their own Scottish styled compositions, influences of Jazz, Pop, Rock and World can be heard throughout, and a new sound for the bagpipes has been identified. Producer, Calum MacCrimmon (Breabach and Man’s Ruin), insisted on recording the album in a live setting, to capture the raw performance energy of the band. Virtuoso Electric Guitarist Davie Dunsmuir lay down a awe-inspiring solo on the track ‘McCready’s’, and a string quartet of Classical/Folk musicians enriched 3 tracks on the album. Scott travelled to Ann Arbor, Michigan to witness the record be mixed by one of his biggest idols and sonic mastermind, Tyler Duncan (the olllam, Ella Riot).

The Scott Wood Band present ‘Upsurge’, part 1 to the future.