They Love Music Mightily

By Various Artists

One comment

Re: They Love Music Mightily

‘The recordings on this CD, and the accompanying photographs, were specially commissioned for a travelling exhibition entitled They Love Music Mightily: Contemporary Recordings of Irish Traditional Music. The project was jointly undertaken by the Ulster Folk and Transport Museum and the Irish Traditional Music Archive.’

I recall visiting the exhibition when it was staged by the National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts and History at Collins Barracks in Dublin back around 2001 or thereabouts and thoroughly enjoying the audio-visual displays.

The contributors to the album were all recorded by Glenn Cumiskey at ITMA, with the exception of tracks 8 and 12 which were recorded at the UF&TM, and these are the participants:

1) Breanndán Ó Beaglaoich -accordion;
2) Patricia Flynn - song;
3) Paul O’Shaughnessy - fiddle;
4) Mary MacNamara - concertina;
5) Rosie Stewart -song;
6) John Carty - banjo;
7) Seán Potts - whistle;
8) Treasa Ní Laifeartaigh - song;
9) Paul Dooley - harp;
10) Gary Hastings - flute;
11) Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin - piano;
12) Éamonn Ó Bróithe - song;
13) Ronan Browne - uilleann pipes.

All the music and song is unaccompanied.

CD released in 2000.