The Star Of Munster

By Eamon De Buitlear Agus Ceoltoiri Laighean

  1. Cnoc Na gClarach
    Bainis Cnoc Na gClarach
  2. Miko Russell’s Ashplant
  3. Mo Ghile Mear
  4. An Chruach Tobac
  5. Carraig An Aoibhnis
    An Speic Seoigheach
  6. An tSean Bhean Bhocht
    Tomeen O’Dea’s
  7. Gairdin Na Noinini
  8. Port Thom Bhilly
  9. The Star Of Munster
  10. Sleamhnan Inis Cathaigh
  11. Dha Ghabhairín Bhuí
    The Devil Is Dead
    The Flower Of The Flock
  12. Dinny Delaney’s

Seven comments

1975 Gael-Linn CEF 047 (Steroe 33 1/3)
Interesting artefact this one…Eamon de buitlear was a member of Sean O’Riada’s “Ceoltoiri Chualann”.I’ll try ans type in the sleeve notes so you can get a bit of background to it. Not to everybody’s taste, as it is highly arranged.
The group on this recording consists of the following musicians.
Director: Eamon de buitlear
Singers: Sean O Liathain
Diarmuid O’Suilleabhain
Fiddles: John Kelly
James Kelly
Paddy Glackin
Pipes: Micheal O hAlmhain
Flute & Whistle: Michael Galvin
Micheal O hAlmhain
Whistle: Michael Crehan
Harp: Aibhlin McCrann
Accordion: Paddy O’Brien
Bodhran: Eamon de Buitlear

Yes a great record..I have also; the other one recorded “live”, can’t find it now.. don’t remember the name …with Mary Bergin on whistle..wish they were released on CD..


….could well be a Michael Galvin on flute, but I think it more likely that it would have been Michael [ Mick ] Gavin playing, since he was a long-time musical associate of the Kellys, and a much-respected player on the Dublin music scene at the time.

Flute & Whistle: Michael Gavin

Yes! 😉

Re: The Star Of Munster

Tracks 6 and 13 added other tunes on tracks, and corrected links

Re: The Star Of Munster

6 and 11