Sean Potts

By Sean Og Potts & Gavin Ralston

Search for Sean Og Potts, Gavin Ralston.

  1. Dinny Delaney’s
    The Frost Is All Over
  2. The Bunch Of Green Rushes
    The Nine Pint Coggie
  3. Chief O’Neill’s
    The Cuckoo’s Nest
  4. Valencia Harbour
    Splendid Isolation
  5. The Rainy Day
    The Silver Spear
    The Merry Blacksmith
  6. Munster Buttermilk
    Na Ceannabhain Bana
  7. Leaving Lerwick Harbour
  8. The Boys Of The Lough
    The Jolly Tinker
  9. An Droighnean Donn
  10. Stella’s Trip To Kamloops
    The Flogging
  11. Tenpenny Piece
    Figs For A Kiss
    Kitty Come Down From Limerick
  12. Cuimhne An Phiobaire
  13. Farewell To Erin

Three comments

Sean Potts (uilleann pipes) with Gavin Ralston (guitars).

…and Paddy Moloney?

…and Paddy Moloney?

"Sean Potts"

Note: Son of ex-Chieftain whistle player Sean Potts, piper Sean Óg Potts and in the Donal Lunny Band. This is Potts’ first solo album, and it very much meets the expectations one might have based on his past recordings. His technique is impressive, particularly his staccato playing and handling of the regulators, as is his manipulating of traditional melodies to suit the piping idiom—listen for instance to his setting of "Frost is All Over" or of the old chestnuts "The Merry Blacksmith." And it doesn’t hurt that Potts’ Andreas Rogge "flat" (B) and concert sets sound absolutely gorgeous.